2020 Wooden Globe Awards

Due to COVID-19, the 2020 Wooden Globe Awards Ceremony was canceled. WMIA honored the 2020 Wooden Globe Awards winners at the 2022 Woodworking Industry Conference, May 3-6 in the Bahamas. The recipients were:

  • Innovation of the Year: National Office Furniture, nominated by Rick Braun of Machine and Robotic Solutions
  • Educator of the Year: Jeff Wasserman, nominated by Jeff Maguire of Maguire Machinery Group

Innovation of the Year

Ron Devillez accepted the award on behalf of National Office Furniture.

In 1980, National Office Furniture joined the contract office furniture market with the goal to stand out. Determined to offer customers a better value with shorter lead times, National created a brand by successfully delivering products that were on budget and on time. Customers were drawn to their ability to design and develop innovative products while offering personal support and extraordinary experiences. Today, that foundation still holds true. National Office Furniture's exceptional value, combined with design-driven products, on-time delivery, and dedication to customer experiences have made them stand out in the furniture industry.

Educator of the Year

Jeff Wasserman, the 2020 Educator of the Year Award winner.

Jeff Wasserman started teaching in the Wood Technology Center at Seattle Central College in 2003. He taught the Introduction to Professional Woodworking (Core) class in the Cabinetmaking and Architectural Woodworking program and an original community class on furniture design. Wasserman has participated in various education panels, helping shape the narrative of modern industrial training, particularly the role of public schools in collaboration with industry. Throughout his career, Wasserman’s focus has been on the intersection of design and craft, and on instilling these values in his students. Some of his work has appeared in various publications and in two Fine Woodworking Design books.

 See previous award winners